Cookie Gala "Thank you" Shout-outs!

gssemadm's picture

As we celebrate National Volunteer Appreciation Week, GSSEM wants recognize the recipients of GSSEM’s first ever "One Tough Cookie" recognitions for Leadership and Community Service, and the many supporters of our annual Cookie Gala. 

All honors were presented at the 2013 Cookie Gala on March 27, 2013, held at the DTE Energy headquarters in Detroit. More than 300 people attended GSSEM’s annual signature fundraiser, which raised nearly $85,000 for Girl Scouting in southeastern Michigan.

At GSSEM, we value our volunteers and supporters.  Without their dedication and commitment to the Girl Scouting movement, it would be impossible to fulfill our mission to build girls of courage, confidence and character who make the world a better place. 

This National Volunteer Appreciation Week, we’re sending a special “Thank You” shout-out to all of the nominees and top recipients of the first-ever GSSEM “One Tough Cookie” recognitions, as well as the chefs and restaurants who help make Cookie Gala an annual success! 

View photos from Cookie Gala here


“One Tough Cookie” Leadership honorees:

Christina Carlin

Courtney Carpenter

Dr. Nancy Coratti

Sharpina Evans

Joanne Faycurry

Linda D. Forte

Glenda Lewis 

Denise Williams Mallett 

Florine Mark 

Kathleen McCanne

Pamela Moffitt 

Cindy Norlin 

Dr. Susan Paurazas, D.D. S.  

Nancy L. Philippart

Lisa Sarkisian  

Kathleen Swantek  

Casandra E. Ulbrich, Ph.D. 

Equilla Wainwright 


The award for the Leadership category was presented to Linda Forte.


“One Tough Cookie” Community Service honorees: 

Maggie Allesee 

Deborah I. Key 

Amal Mazeh 

Kathleen McCann

Barbara Jean Patton 


The award for the Community Service category was presented to Maggie Allesee.


Cookie Gala restaurant and bakery winners:

Macomb Culinary Institute 

CEO’s Choice               

Chef Francois Faloppa


Prime 29 Steaks, Seafood & Cocktails 

Judges’ Choice             

Chef Hai Ying



Presenting Sponsor’s Choice   

Chef Emily Davis


Sweet & Savory Bake Shop 

Girls’ Choice                

Pastry Chefs Debbie Meyers and Scott Eschelbach


Fifty One-O-One 

People’s Choice           

Chef Kristin Jablonski