The Cookie Gala

Cookie Gala - Thiin Mint Treat Cookie Gala - Our girl judges with Prime 29 Cookie Gala - Thank You Berry Munch treat Cookie Gala - Henry Ford Community College

Girl Scouts are famous for their cookies – and now local chefs are gaining acclaim for their decadent confections made with Girl Scouts Cookies.

The 2014 Cookie Gala included the participation of popular restaurants and bakeries including ARAMARK Corporation, Detroit (Do-si-dos), Fifty-One-O-One, Dearborn (Thin Mint), Oakhurst Golf and Country Club, Clarkston (Thank U Berry Munch), The Lark, West Bloomfield (Dulce de Leche)
Macomb Culinary Institute, Clinton Township (Samoas), Prime 29 Steak, Seafood & Cocktails, West Bloomfield (Thin Mint), Holiday Market, Royal Oak  (Trefoils), Sweet & Savory Bake Shop, Oxford (Tagalongs), Treat Dreams, Ferndale (Samoas), and The Hill Seafood & Chop House, Grosse Pointe Farms (Savannah Smiles) We welcomed over 300 guests who helped to raise over $87,000 to support programming for girls.

Supporting the Girl Scouts of Southeastern Michigan Cookie Gala is an excellent investment in our community. Your commitment will help girls in the Southeastern Michigan community continue to enjoy leadership development opportunities provided by the nation’s largest and longest-established mentorship organization for girls.

The five Chef Award winners are: 
CEO’s Choice – Aramark Corporation
Girl’s Choice – The Lark  
People’s Choice – Macomb Culinary Institute
Judge’s Choice – Holiday Market  
Cookie Diva’s Choice – Sweet & Savory Bake Shop
Presenting Sponsor – Prime29 Seafood, Steaks & Cocktails


"One Tough Cookie” Recognition

An organization, group or individual can nominate a special female for her personal/professional accomplishments or community involvement. It may be a boss, co-worker, neighbor, best friend, a Board member or an exceptional volunteer that deserves special recognition. The recognition for “Leadership” which honors female leaders of character in their personal and/or professional lives and the recognition for “Community Service” which honors women for their volunteer/philanthropic activities in the community.

2014 "One Tough Cookie" Honorees:

“One Tough Cookie” Recognition for Leadership Honorees:
Elizabeth “Betsy” L. Aderholdt
Sue Ellen Eisenberg
Sandra K. Ennis
Monica L. Martinez
Dara Munson
Dr. Glenda Price
Theresa Rich
Alice Rieves
Dr. Toni Somers
Jessica Suzio
The top recipient for this category was Dr. Glenda Price.

“One Tough Cookie” Recognition for Community Service Honorees:
Sherri Abbulone
Brenda Brown, Ph.D
Joan Fogler
Deborah L. Macon
Darci E. McConnell
Lynn Marie Oates
Alice Rieves
Mary Turner
Courteney Zagacki
The top recipient for this category was Brenda Brown, Ph.D.

Questons about this great event? Please contact Kenya James at 313-870-2562 or